Looking back over 5 years of NIRMV



Sunday, April 18, 2021

Register now: Virtual Poetry Salute April 23, 7-9 p.m.

Join NIRMV for a special event on Zoom celebrating National Poetry Month. The event is free, but registration is cordially requested. Register at http://bit.ly/nirmv2021poetryevent



Expressions of Love and Caring: Nominate a Mother

Mothers are jewels, and this year NIRMV is celebrating Mother's Day 2021 with a special Jewels for Jewels Tribute. When you nominate a mother, your nominee will get a certificate and calligraphy collectible, and will be entered in a drawing to a piece of jewelry. We have three pieces to give away. Just send the following to nirmvdetroit@gmail.com by Monday, May 3:

  • The nominator's name
  • The nominator's telephone number with area code
  • The nominee's mailing address 

 


Monday, April 5, 2021

Up Your Financial IQ, Virtually!


Money Smart Week is a week-long initiative from April 10-17 that aims to help people, especially those hardest hit by the COVID-19 pandemic, better manage their personal finances through the coordinated efforts of experts and educators across the country.

Enjoy short, free, streaming events each day during Money Smart Week by visiting moneysmartweek.org.

This year’s line-up includes:


 

Saturday, April 10 @ 10:00 a.m. CST |
Talking Cents (The University of Chicago Financial Education Initiative)

Sunday, April 11 @ 10:00 a.m. CST |
Saving (FINRA Investor Education Foundation)

Monday, April 12 @ 12:00 p.m. CST |
Basic Banking (The Economic Awareness Council)

Tuesday, April 13 @ 12:30 p.m. CST |
Student Loans (U.S. Department of Education, Federal Student Aid)

Wednesday, April 14 @ 1:00 p.m. CST |
Fraud Protection (Internal Revenue Service)

Thursday, April 15 @ 1:00 p.m. CST |
Personal Finance (Global Financial Literacy Excellence Center)

Friday, April 16 @ 12:00 p.m. CST |
Housing Protections + Resources (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau)

Saturday, April 17 @ 10:30 a.m. CST |
Budgeting (University of Wisconsin-Madison, Division of Extension)